The four-time champion Germany was eliminated from the FIFA World Cup 2022 on Friday after Japan’s remarkable 2-1 victory over Spain. Japan scored the game-winning goal in the 51st minute, but the play was shrouded in dispute.
Despite some camera angles showing that the ball may have crossed the goal line, the VAR ultimately awarded the goal to the Asian team.
Now, fans are referencing a 2010 FIFA World Cup event to argue that a refereeing error benefited Germany in that tournament’s finals in South Africa.
In case you didn’t know, Frank Lampard’s long-range shot during England’s encounter against Germany at the 2010 World Cup hit the post and ricocheted in before crossing the goal line. The referee controversially disallowed an equalizer from England.
Alvaro Morata, a Spanish striker, returned to the Qatar World Cup and scored the game’s first goal in the eleventh minute against Japan. The Asian giants started attacking with greater vigor in the second half.
In the 48th minute, their doggedness paid off as winger Ritsu Doan scored. Just three minutes later, Japan took the lead for the first time on a controversial goal by midfielder Ao Tanaka.
Tanaka tapped the ball past Spanish goalkeeper Unai Simon after it appeared to have crossed the goal line. The goal was initially given to Japan, but the referee requested a VAR review.
The VAR authorities did not find any evidence to reverse the in-game call.
The Blue Samurai won the game and took home all three points, giving them seven for the group stage.
Despite Japan’s victory, Luis Enrique’s squad advanced to the knockout stage with four points from three matches.
However, Hansi Flick’s squad was eliminated despite a 4-2 victory over Costa Rica on Friday.
Germany and Spain finished with four points, but Germany was eliminated from the tournament because of its inferior goal difference.