Home » Movies » How to watch Star Wars movies in order?

How to watch Star Wars movies in order?

by Clover Shaw
0 comment

If you wish to watch the Star Wars movies in order, you just need one thing – A Disney+ subscription. The whole Star Wars universe is there to entertain fans. It has never been more convenient! But wait.. the important question is, in what order should you watch the movies and shows? Don’t worry! That’s why we are here. 

It comprises the first three films in the actual trilogy, the prequel films, and the recent spinoff sequel. In addition, you can view Disney’s expanding library of Star Wars television programs, including The Mandalorian and The Bad Batch, along with stand-alone movies like Rogue One and Solo.

Yes! It has become easier to watch Star Wars, but before that, you must decide how you prefer to watch it. And by that, I mean viewing order. Do you prefer sequel films or a trilogy? Then what about the solo ones and the spinoff? Here’s how you can watch it in either release order or chronologically. Let’s shed light on both ways!

Theatrical release order 

If we talk about order, logically, the most apparent answer is to watch it in theatrical release order. Because why not? Isn’t George Lucas intend for the audience to see it like this? This is how movies were represented, right? The original trilogy is shown first, followed by the spinoff movies, and finally, Disney’s sequel movies.

If you follow this order, you will see Vader’s origin tale and Luke conquering Darth Vader. Then there’s Rey continuing Lukes’s legacy in the best possible way. However, if you intend to include the solo Star Wars movies in this order, it may get a little confusing. The standalone Solo and Rogue One would break the follow-up trilogy based on their respective release dates.

Skip past these two movies if you want to preserve the plot of the main movies when you watch them again. In either case, they really had no bearing on the main story. The standalone movies can be viewed prior to or following the sequel series for first-time viewers who seek the full flavor.

If you prefer a theatrical release order, it should be like this:

  • The Star Wars Part 4: A New Hope
  • The Star Wars Part 5: The Empire Strikes Back
  • The Star Wars Part 6: Return of the Jedi
  • The Star Wars Part 1: The Phantom Menace
  • The Star Wars Part 2: Attack of the Clones
  • The Star Wars Part 3: Revenge of the Sith
  • The Star Wars Part 7: The Force Awakens
  • The Rogue One (optional)
  • The Star Wars Part 8: The Last Jedi
  • The Solo (optional)
  • The Star Wars Part 9: The Rise of Skywalker

Star Wars Saga: Chronological order

If you intend to see Anakin, Luke, and Rey’s ascent as they occurred in their respective timelines, don’t fret! We’ve arranged all the films (plus a reward Mandalorian film) in one complete sequence. If we talk about the trilogy film, spinoffs, and subsidiary tales, it makes up the whole Star Wars filmography. 

However, the first three prequels cover The Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones, and Revenge of the Sith. You will witness Anakin Skywalker and how he converted to the Dark side from the Jedi side, becoming Darth Vader. 

There are live-action Star Wars films and shows for you in the list below. Additionally, you can squeak in 2008s The Clone Wars, which was preceded by a separate, considerably more well-liked animated series. After that, there’s an Obi-Wan Kenobi movie.

Then, in Solo: Star Wars Adventure, we get to meet a specific space rogue(Rogue Squadron). Star Wars Rebels is next in line, but we are sticking with live-action, so ‘“Rogue One” is our primary target. A film whose plot events ultimately flow into the prequel trilogy. 

Then we will witness Luke Skywalker emerging from the desert. While The Empire Strikes Back, A New Hope, and The Return of Jedi depict his heroic struggle fighting Galactic Empire. 

It all brings us to the sequel trilogy – The Force Awakens, The Last Jedi, and The Rise of Skywalker when Rey holds the title of Jedi. Eventually, the trilogy films are linked with episodes of the animated series, The Star Wars Resistance.

Now, here’s the list of Star Wars Saga in chronological order if you’re not willing to watch it in theatrical order:

  • The Star Wars Part 1 – The Phantom Menace (1999)
  • The Star Wars Part 2 – Attack Of The Clones (2002)
  • The Star Wars – The Clone Wars (2008)
  • The Star Wars Part 3 – Revenge Of The Sith (2005)
  • Solo – A Star Wars Story (2018)
  • Obi-Wan Kenobi (2022)
  • Star Wars Rebels (2014)
  • Rogue One – A Star Wars Story (2016) 
  • The Star Wars Part 4 – A New Hope (1977)
  • The Star Wars Part 5 – The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
  • The Star Wars Part 6 – Return Of The Jedi (1983)
  • Star Wars – The Force Awakens (2015)
  • Star Wars – The Last Jedi (2017)
  • Star Wars – The Rise Of Skywalker (2019)

What should we do if we wish to watch something that includes many segments but seems really interesting? One question pops up in everybody’s mind, in what order should we watch, right?  Because who would want to ruin the show they are interested in? Accordingly, that’s the main reason one must look for the sequence before tapping the play button. 



Be the first to read our latest blogs and news.

We don’t spam! Please read our privacy policy for more info.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

SilverFlick is an entertainment website that offers news in the fields of movies, tv shows, games, and technology.

SilverFlick, A News & Media Company – All Right Reserved 2022.