Home » Movies » How to Watch Underworld Movies in Order

How to Watch Underworld Movies in Order

by Clover Shaw
0 comment

The Underworld series is fundamentally a never-ending war between two supernatural entities, Werewolves, and Vampires. All these movies depict lethal encounters between the both.

The unique combat has created an excellent fandom for the franchise. With the leather-clad vampires and werewolves in disguise as hunks, the series shows a modern-day goth story about ancient creatures.

With the conflict between two hybrids, Selene, a vampire, and Michael, a Lycan, the Underworld series are intriguing to watch. But you will see flashbacks, prequels, and timeline switches that could disrupt the natural chronology of the series. To make it easier for you to understand the chronology, we have put together the list so you can follow it and understand the story and its timeline.

The two ways to watch Underworld movies in order to fully understand the concepts and timeline is to stream in release or chronological order:

Chronological order

  1. 2009-Underworld: Rise of the Lycans
  2. 2011-Underworld: Endless War (Part I)
  3. 2011-Underworld: Endless War (Part II)
  4. 2003-Underworld
  5. 2006-Underworld: Evolution
  6. 2011-Underworld: Endless War (Part III)
  7. 2012-Underworld: Awakening
  8. 2016-Underworld: Blood Wars

Release order

  1. 2003-Underworld
  2. 2006-Underworld: Evolution
  3. 2009-Underworld: Rise of the Lycans
  4. 2011-Underworld: Endless Wars (I, II, and III)
  5. 2012-Underworld: Awakening
  6. 2016-Underworld: Blood Wars
  7. 2012-Underworld: Awakening
  8. 2016-Underworld: Blood Wars

There is only one change to your viewing schedule if you watch the movies chronologically. Underworld: Rise of the Lycans is the only movie where Kate Beckinsale does not appear. It’s a prequel that you should watch prior to the next installments.

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009) - IMDb

Image Courtesy: IMDb

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)

Director: Patrick Tatopoulos

Writer: Danny McBride

IMDB rating: 6.6

Runtime: I hr. 32 mins

it is the third Underworld movie about the origins of Lycans. It answers who was responsible for Viktor’s brought up. How did Lucian grow up, and how did Victor fall for Victor’s daughter during the rise of the Lycans? What happens to Sonja after they find out about her affair with a Lycan? Is she able to survive? Will anger and fury overtake her and begin the end of the beginning of the Lycans’ rising?

Underworld: Endless War (Video 2011) - IMDb

Image Courtesy: IMDb

Underworld: Endless War (2011)

Director: Juno John Lee

Writer: Danny McBride, Kevin Grevioux

IMDB rating: 6.3

Runtime: 18 mins

This animated Underworld movie depicts a long-running, over-a-century-old Underworld endless war. Selena is shown in three timelines: 1967, 1980, and 2012. You can see her fighting and strategizing in order to eliminate the most potent Lycan brothers. As part of the Underworld Trilogy, it is three anime films, Underworld: Endless Wars I, II, and III.

Underworld (2003) - IMDb

Image Courtesy: IMDb

Underworld (2003)

Director: Len Wiseman

Writer: Kevin Grevioux

IMDb Rating: 7

Runtime: 2h 1m

The first Underworld Movie Series introduces us to the incredible Underworld cast, including Selena, the death dealer. She hopes to eliminate werewolves from this planet.

She saves Michael from the underworld in one of the battles, only to discover that he was bitten by Lycans. She also discovers Viktor, a vampire elder, was responsible for her parents’ deaths — she had believed it to be a Lycan. As if that weren’t enough, they also discover Michael’s ancestry and realize that he may become a hybrid rather than a werewolf.

Underworld: Evolution (2006) - IMDb

Image Courtesy: IMDb

Underworld: Evolution (2006)

Director: Len Wiseman

Writer: Danny McBride, Kevin Grevioux

IMDB rating: 6.7

Runtime: 1 hr. 46 mins

In the second Underworld movie Series, Selena quests with Michael to learn more about their heritage. Also, they meet Alexander, an ancient vampire, who informs them of the Lycana-Vampires rivalry. Alexander is also attacked, which leads to a bad ending in the previous films. Alexander then asks Selena for a taste of his blood in order to make her a hybrid. After that, Selena and Michael embark on their own journey in their hybrid states.

Watch a Clip from Underworld: Endless War - ComingSoon.net

Image Courtesy: comingsoon.net

Underworld: Endless War (Part III)

Director: Juno John Lee

Writer: Danny McBride, Kevin Grevioux

IMDB rating: 6.7

Runtime: 18 mins

After Alexander Corvinus’ death, Selene returned to Paris in 2012 with the intent of killing Krandrill. Michael Corvin was there to help. Krandrill lures Selene and Michael back to Paris, where they split to cover more ground for Krandrill’s frequent presence.

Underworld: Awakening (2012) - IMDb

Image Courtesy: IMDb

Underworld: Awakening (2012)

Director: Mans Marlind

Writer: Len Wiseman

IMDB rating: 5.8

Runtime: 1 hr. 28 mins

The fourth installment of the franchise, Underworld Awakening, shows the government and humans discovering the existence of mythical creatures. It is a prequel where humans are keen to research vampires as lab rats.

We have seen many vampire hunters in Hollywood movies. Selena is also held hostage in a cryogenic tension. In 2015, Selena woke up to discover that her powers had disappeared. How can she save herself and her race?

Underworld: Blood Wars (2016) - IMDb

Image Courtesy: IMDb

Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

Director: Anna Foerster

Writer: Corry Goodman

IMDB rating: 7

Runtime: 1 hr. 31 mins

The blood wars, the last Underworld movie, shows that Lycans are nearly extinct due to the underworld conflicts. Both races seem determined to capture Selena, which is strange. On the other hand, she has met David, who later discovers he is an actual heir to the Eastern Coven.

The Lycans end up finding Vampire death dealer Selene and have decided to attack the coven in a bloody war. During this fight, Selena also discovers who killed Michael.

The vampires win the blood war, and Selena and David become the chosen elders of the Underworld movie. This is the end of a series that began a decade ago.



Be the first to read our latest blogs and news.

We don’t spam! Please read our privacy policy for more info.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

SilverFlick is an entertainment website that offers news in the fields of movies, tv shows, games, and technology.

SilverFlick, A News & Media Company – All Right Reserved 2022.